[bad days]

I can’t say that I have had many ‘bad days’ in my life. There’s been a few, but nothing like Tuesday 11/17. I felt like a completely different person and here’s a few reasons why:

  1. I woke up late.
  2. Two clients yelled then hung up on me.
  3. PMS was in full swing.
  4. Jogging didn’t happen.
  5. It was the busiest day ever at work.
  6. A family friend’s grandfather passed away.
  7. A miscommunication with a co-worker was hurtful.
  8. I felt fat.

At lunch, C and I ate in my car so I could get away from the office and feel a sense of privacy/safety. I remember telling him I wanted to tune out for the rest of the day and go home to sulk. He saw me in raw form and I was even ashamed of the thoughts/words that were coming out of my mouth. (I call that word vomit). Although everything in my body wanted to call it quits and head home, something told me it wasn’t the right thing to do. In life, there will be good and bad days and it’s not fair to call it quits just because of a hard day. I decided to stay at work and push through. Yes, I hated it. Every second up until 5:00p felt like an eternity. With my door closed, I felt like a grumpy little hermit pouting in my dark office.

On the way home, C drove. I pulled my HUGE blanket over me (which is usually stored in my trunk for picnics) and sat in complete silence most of the way home. Yes, there were tears. I’ll say it again, this day was so frustrating it made me feel like someone else. Side note: I have the world’s sweetest boyfriend. C told me he loved me and held my hand. I remember telling him my day would have been 100x worse if he wasn’t in my life. He makes my world better, sweeter, brighter and happier. When we pulled into our parking spot, I was still pouting but felt better knowing home was close. As we were gathering our things out of the car, something unexpected happened. A dog owner walked by with her two English Bulldogs. I heard a faint pup cry and looked to see one of the dogs looking at me with the sweetest eyes. He pulled his body in such a way and started to walk towards me. When his owner pulled him back towards her, he persisted. Eventually, his owner won and he went with her. I think he felt my sad energy. The look in his eyes and funny fat body made me smile. I’m not sure what that all meant, but I love animals and maybe that was God’s way of cheering me up.

When we walked inside, I bolted into the bedroom to change into my PJs. I dove into bed with my heating pad, Zodi and Golden Girls. For 45 minutes, I laid in the same position and soaked up the amazing comfort of being home. I knew this moment felt so nice because I pushed through. There were things to do, so I got up and changed to head to the store. C and I needed to grab dinner and ingredients for pecan pie. The rest of the night was better and my pecan pie was a hit the following night at Robin’s Thanksgiving 🙂

Before I end, I want to make a special comment about my mom and C. My mom came to visit me at work and continuously texted me to make sure I was ok. C was there for me the whole day, even when I was extra grouchy 😉 I am thankful for the both of them.

I realize this was just a bad day mixed in with PMS. It happens. Without a few bad days from time to time, the good ones wouldn’t be so good 🙂

Leave a Reply

