[children?]

To put it bluntly:
 I’m not certain children are in the cards for me.
 
I’m already 30 and still haven’t felt that maternal pull most women feel.
 
Trust me, I’ve been waiting for it. But nothing. Sure, I see a baby and wonder..
But wondering and pondering is about where it ends.
 
My personal opinion is that all women should at least have one child. One child to love, which will return the love.
But here’s the funny part; regardless of my own personal opinion…
I’m still not sure I want to take that leap.
 
Maybe motherhood is not for all women. Just because all my friends are having kids, doesn’t mean I have to as well. I want to do what is best for me, not others or society.
 
I’m not going to bring a child into this world just for the hell of it. Personally, I think that is more selfish than those who openly admit that they are too selfish to have kids. Having children shouldn’t be a ‘sure, why not?’ thing.
 
I’m writing about this because it has been on my mind for over a year; yet my feelings remain mixed.
 
Really hoping for some sort of clarity, because when I am unsure of something I usually do nothing…until a sign gives me the confidence I need to take the next step.
Leave a Reply

